AVENUE - H2020

Autonomous vehicles promise to be the next revolution in public transport. They should find their first users in suburban areas, which are less well served by traditional transportation networks. But for these new services to develop, we must first identify the needs and motivations of their future users and be able to respond to them, meet many of the technological and regulatory challenges, and design new business models. This is the aim of the 4 year AVENUE project consortium, led by the University of Geneva (UNIGE) with a total budget of 22 million euros and funded by the European Commission up to the level of 16 million euros.

Mobile application prototype

As responsible of the mobile services for passenger, MobileThinking started prototyping the mobile application containing the services. Through time, passengers services will improve and evolve. All the newly imagined services will be first tested and validated by users using the prototype and only then implemented. 

Three themes

autonomous driving
The first theme addresses security, fluidity of traffic and ability to adapt to exceptional road situations. At first, it will be studied only in limited areas, whose environment has been previously fully mapped.
Optimization of itineraries
The second theme will optimize the vehicles itineraries in a perspective of cost reduction and user comfort. Passengers will be able to book their trip from their smartphone, via a simple and user-friendly application, offering different levels of services.
in- and out- of vehicle services
The third theme will focus on in and out of vehicle services, such as augmented reality solutions on vehicle windows, as well as assistance to meet special needs' and less autonomous passengers, such as children or seniors.

The partners

The AVENUE project consortium, for "Autonomous Vehicles to Evolve to a New Urban Experience", brings together 16 partners: academic institutions, public transport operators, autonomous vehicle manufacturers, major technology R&D companies and specialized start-ups. Among them, five Swiss. Alongside the UNIGE, the transports publics genevois (tpg) and the State of Geneva, two start-ups are indeed involved: MobileThinking, resulting from the UNIGE and BestMile, created at EPFL.

News

AVENUE
5th AVENUE General meeting - Visio screenshot
15

May

2020

5th AVENUE H2020 plenary meeting

On Thursday, May 14, Kevin and Mattia attended (from the comfort of their home) the fifth two-day plenary meeting of the AVENUE H2020 project. We were supposed to meet in Copenhagen, but given the COVID19 situation, we did so by videoconference.
03

February

2020

H2020 Avenue – Midterm review

Le lundi 7 octobre, le premier jour d'une réunion plénière de trois jours sur le projet H2020 AVENUE s'est tenu à l'Université de Genève, Battelle. Les 16 partenaires étaient tous présents et nous formions un groupe d'environ 35 personnes travaillant dans le même objectif «Donner aux véhicules autonomes les moyens d'évoluer vers une nouvelle expérience urbaine».
H2020 - AVENUE projet - Application mobile pour véhicules autonome - Jour 2
08

October

2019

Day 2 – M18 AVENUE H2020 plenary meeting

The second day of this plenary meeting is dedicated to passengers, both in terms of user requirements but also services dedicated to increase acceptance of the autonomous vehicles by the population.
H2020 - AVENUE projet - Application mobile pour véhicules autonome
07

October

2019

Day 1 – M18 AVENUE H2020 plenary meeting

On Monday the 7th of October the first day of a 3-day plenary meeting for the H2020 AVENUE project was held at the University of Geneva, Battelle. All the 16th partners were present and we were a group of approximately 35 people working towards the same objectives “To empower Autonomous Vehicles to Evolve to a New Urban Experience”.
For more information, you can visit the official AVENUE website or contact us directly
This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 769033

AVENUE - H2020

Les véhicules autonomes promettent d'être la prochaine révolution dans les transports publics. Ils devraient trouver leurs premiers utilisateurs dans les zones suburbaines, moins bien desservies par les réseaux de transport traditionnels. Mais pour que ces nouveaux services se développent, nous devons d'abord identifier les besoins et les motivations de leurs futurs utilisateurs et pouvoir y répondre, relever nombre de défis technologiques et réglementaires, et concevoir de nouveaux modèles commerciaux. C'est l'objectif du consortium du projet AVENUE, mené par l'Université de Genève (UNIGE) pour une durée de 4 ans, avec un budget total de 22 millions d'euros et financé par la Commission européenne à hauteur de 16 millions d'euros.

Prototype d'application mobile

En tant que responsable des services mobiles pour les passagers, MobileThinking a commencé à prototyper l'application mobile. Au fil du temps, les services aux passagers s'amélioreront et évolueront. Tous les services nouvellement imaginés seront d'abord testés et validés par les utilisateurs à l'aide du prototype, puis seulement mis en œuvre.

Trois thèmes

LA CONDUITE AUTONOME
Le premier thème porte sur la sécurité, la fluidité du trafic et la capacité d'adaptation aux situations routières exceptionnelles. Dans un premier temps, il ne sera étudié que dans des zones limitées, dont l'environnement a été préalablement entièrement cartographié.
L'OPTIMISATION DES ITINÉRAIRES
Le second thème vise à optimiser les itinéraires des véhicules dans une perspective de réduction des coûts et de confort des usagers. Les passagers pourront réserver leur voyage à partir de leur smartphone, via une application simple et conviviale, offrant différents niveaux de services.
LES SERVICES D'ENTRÉE ET DE SORTIE DES VÉHICULES
Le troisième thème portera sur les services à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des véhicules, tels que les solutions de réalité augmentée sur les vitres des véhicules, ainsi que l'assistance pour répondre aux "besoins spéciaux" et aux passagers moins autonomes, tels que les enfants ou les personnes âgées.

Les partenaires

Le consortium du projet AVENUE, pour "Autonomous Vehicles to Evolve to a New Urban Experience", réunit 16 partenaires : institutions universitaires, opérateurs de transport public, fabricants de véhicules autonomes, grandes entreprises de R&D technologique et start-ups spécialisées. Parmi eux, cinq Suisses. Aux côtés de l'UNIGE, des transports publics genevois (tpg) et de l'Etat de Genève, deux start-up sont en effet impliquées : MobileThinking, issue de l'UNIGE et BestMile, créée à l'EPFL.

News

AVENUE
5th AVENUE General meeting - Visio screenshot
15

mai

2020

Cinquième réunion plénière du projet AVENUE H2020

Le jeudi 14 mai, Kevin et Mattia ont assisté (depuis le confort de leur maison) à la cinquième réunion plénière de deux jours sur le projet H2020 AVENUE. Nous étions censés nous retrouver à Copenhague, mais au vu de la situation sanitaire du moment, nous avons fait cela en visioconférence.
03

février

2020

H2020 Avenue – Midterm review

A l'occasion de la révision à mi-parcours du projet AVENUE devant un comité de l'Union européenne, MobileThinking était à Bruxelles du jeudi 30 janvier au vendredi 31 janvier. Pendant ces deux jours, nous avons répété, peaufiné et enfin présenté le travail réalisé au cours des 18 premiers mois du projet AVENUE. Le jeudi, nous avons consacré la journée à une "répétition", où nous avons répété nos présentations et démonstration pour bien préparer le grand jour.
15

novembre

2019

Forum mobilité – Les enjeux de demain

En tant qu'acteurs du domaine de la mobilité suisse et européenne, nous nous sommes rendus au Forum Mobilité dans le but de participer aux échanges sur les enjeux de demain.
H2020 - AVENUE projet - Application mobile pour véhicules autonome
07

octobre

2019

Jour 1 – M18 – Réunion plénière du projet AVENUE H2020

Le lundi 7 octobre, le premier jour d'une réunion plénière de trois jours sur le projet H2020 AVENUE s'est tenu à l'Université de Genève, Battelle. Les 16 partenaires étaient tous présents et nous formions un groupe d'environ 35 personnes travaillant dans le même objectif «Donner aux véhicules autonomes les moyens d'évoluer vers une nouvelle expérience urbaine».
Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez visiter le site officiel de l'AVENUE ou nous contacter directement
This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 769033